Skip to content

Extreme Couponing

June 29, 2011

As you probably already noticed, my little shop remains closed until further notice.  I know, it’s sad. 

In other news, I’ve been hearing rumors that the Extreme Couponers are hurting the rest of us Normal Couponers.  What’s up with stockpiling enough salad dressing to last the next 5 years…or pasta, or cereal, etc.?  I don’t get it.  Too bad there’s already another show on TLC called “Hoarders” because that seems like the more appropriate name for those couponers. 

I use coupons to match with items on sale and sometimes stock up on a few extras.  I think I have 4 tubes of toothpaste in my bathroom closet that I got for free.  4.  Not 400!  I also don’t buy a lot of the pre-packaged junk that there are always coupons for.  Anyway, Thrifty Mama, from the Atlanta area has a post about couponing that is interesting.  I’ve never done couponing on the level that some people do, but I will keep trying to save money by using coupons on the things that I would be buying anyway.

One Comment leave one →
  1. June 29, 2011 7:23 PM

    I agree with you. I think stores are punishing regular customers because of these extreme customers. I can’t imagine needing that much stuff, ever. I think there’s definitely a bit of OCD involved. I mean, I can understand that it’s exciting to get stuff for almost free, but if you don’t need it, why get it? I don’t understand. My friend does a form of this, but she donates some of the things she gets to charities. I’m okay with that. I just think some people have taken it beyond the extreme. it’s just not for me. I’m sorry your Etsy shop is closed. It’s a bummer. But you gotta do what you gotta do. :-)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

